General Trade, Mining and Manufacturing

General Trade, Mining and Manufacturing

STOP ChAFTA Town Hall Debates

Paul Lister - Thursday, October 08, 2015

Will the China Free Trade Agreement be good for local jobs?

The Turnbull Liberal Government is intent on forcing the China Free Trade Agreement through the Senate before Christmas.

Australian Unions believe the China Free Trade Agreement will:

  • be BAD for local jobs
  • be BAD for workplace safety
  • be BAD for local communities
  • undercut local rates of pay
  • exploit overseas workers

Come hear both sides and decide for yourself! public debates have been organised for the following locations and we encourage as many ETU members as possible to come along.

GRAFTON

Kevin Hogan MP, Nationals Member for Page is invited to debate Tony Maher, Construction, Foresty, Mining and Energy Union.

When: October 27, 2015 at 6pm - 7pm
Where: South Grafton Ex-Servicemen's Club - 2 Wharf St, South Grafton
Contact: Sharryn Usher - susher@actu.org.au

Download the event flyer

HURSTVILLE

David Coleman MP, Liberal Member for Banks is invited to debate Allen Hicks, Electrical Trades Union.

When: October 27, 2015 at 6pm - 7pm
Where: Club Central Hurstville - 2 Crofts Ave, Hurstville
Contact: Maryanne Stuart - mstuart@actu.org.au

Download the event flyer

CENTRAL COAST

Karen McNamara MP, Liberal Member for Dobell and Lucy Wicks MP, Liberal Member for Robertson are invited to debate Ged Kearney, ACTU President and Jane Calvert, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union.

When: October 27, 2015 at 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Where: The Entrance Leagues Club - 3 Bay Village Rd, Bateau Bay
Contact: Aarin Moon - amoon@actu.org.au

Download the event flyer

PENRITH

Fiona Scott MP, Liberal Member for Lindsay and Louise Markus MP, Liberal Member for Macquarie are invited to debate Ged Kearney, ACTU President and Jane Calvert, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union.

When: October 28, 2015 at 6pm - 9pm
Where: Penrith Paceway - 141-147 Station St, Penrith
Contact: Mary Yaager - MYaager@unionsnsw.org.au or Aaron Reynolds - areynolds@actu.org.au

Download the event flyer

QUEANBEYAN

Peter Hendy MP, Liberal Member for Eden-Monaro is invited to debate Michael O'Connor, National Secretary, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union.

When: October 30, 2015 at 6pm - 8pm
Where: The Royal Hotel - 85 Monaro St, Queanbeyan
Contact: Jeremy Kirkwood - jeremykirkwood@unionsact.org.au

Download the event flyer

BOMADERRY/NOWRA

Ann Sudmalis MP, Liberal Member for Gilmore is invited to debate Jane Calvert, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union.

When: November 18, 2015 at 6.30pm - 7.30pm
Where: Bomaderry Bowling Club - 154 Meroo Rd, Bomaderry
Contact: Lisa Kremmer - lkremmer@actu.org.au